Board of Directors

About MEC Board of Directors

Mountain Electric Cooperative is a non-profit electric cooperative, chartered under the laws of Tennessee to distribute electric energy to the people living in its service area.
The members own and control it through an elected Board of Directors. The Board of Directors is composed of 8 members, one elected from each of the districts – Three from Johnson County, three from Avery County and two from Roan Mountain. The board members are also members of the cooperative.

District Meetings are held in August for the members of that district to vote for the candidate of their choice. Each district meeting is held within the said district at which a director from the district resides and the director is elected by only members residing in that district. Nominations are made by nomination committee and by signed petition (10 member’s signatures are required on the petition). The voting is conducted by written ballot, and trustees are elected to serve three-year terms.

The board is the policy making and supervisory body for MEC. It sees that the cooperative is run properly and to the best interest of all members and that the policies agreed upon are carried out. The board employs a General Manager to oversee the cooperative’s day-to-day operations. MEC’s current general manager is Joe Thacker.

Present board members are:

District 1: Joe Atwood
J. Atwood
District 2: George Lowe
G. Lowe
District 3: Bob Heck
District 4: Harry Smith
H. Smith
District 5: R. Bruce Lacey 

Vice President
R. Bruce

District 6: Ronnie Townson

R. Townson

District 7: W.O. Hampton

Secretary/ Treasurer
W. O. Hampton

District 8: David Ellis 

D. Ellis

MEC Districts, board members, and communities served:

District 1
Joe Atwood

Mountain City
Pleasant Valley
Cold Springs
Silver Lake
Laurel Bloomery
Sugar Creek
Furnace Creek
Shingle Town
Harbin Hill

District 2
George Lowe

Shady Valley
Doe Valley
Doeville to the Roan Creek Bridge
Sink Valley
Butler (to the bridge across Watauga Lake)
Pierce Town (to the Watauga Lake Boundary)

District 3
Bob Heck

Forge Creek
Dry Run
Mill Creek
Bakers Gap
Little Dry Run
Dry Hill
Crackers Neck
Bunton Town to the Carter County line
Walnut Grove

District 4
Harry Smith

Banner Elk
Sugar Mountain
Grandfather Community

District 5
Bruce Lacey

Linville Falls
Land Harbor
Jonas Ridge

District 6
Ronnie Townson

Simerly Creek
Tiger Creek
Elk Mills
Whitehead Hill to Roaring Creek Bridge
Tolley Town
Poga to the state line
Little Milligan
Fish Springs (Hwy 67 to the bridge across Watauga Lake)

District 7
W.O. Hampton

Roan Mountain
Shell Creek
Upper Shell Creek
Buck Mountain
Cove Creek

District 8
David Ellis

Elk Park to state line
Heaton Creek
Old Beech Mountain
Beech Mountain
Roaring Creek